Ed Tech 543 Week 1

What are you initial reactions about joining these social networks for use in this course?

I do not mind joining these social networks for this course. I do not subscribe to any of these social networks except for twitter. I don’t often post to twitter, but I enjoy reading breaking news and sports stories. I think it will be healthy for me to see how social networks are used for the purpose of education.

What is your experience in using social media for your own professional development?

I don’t use social media for professional development. I am on a mail list for several blogs that I love to read. It seems that I don’t have time to read and review what others are doing. I work full time, have two young children that involved in sports, and I am taking these classes from Boise State. These classes and the professional development that my school division requires me to attend are professional development enough for me. I can see social media being useful to me when I have completed my M.E.T.

What is your experience in using social media as an instructional strategy in your learning environment?

I have never used social media as an instructional strategy in my classroom or with my staff.

What are your expectations for this course?

I would like to see how to use social media in a learning environment. I predominantly teach elementary students. I want to know how to use social media in a relevant way to my classroom or to my job as an in-school administrator. I want to see how elementary to high school students can use social media for learning and not for entertainment and socializing.

Posted in Ed Tech 543 Learning Log
