Chris Mason’s PLE of On-line Communities

PLE Online Communities

I have learned that I have a lot of social media connections. My Ed Tech 543 class has opened up a new world for me. I just barely beginning to understand and access the opportunities available through social media for my professional learning environment. I guess I had been using some aspects of  social media for my PLE, but not to the extent I am now.

The diagram represents the Internet and my social media connections. The light at the top of the picture is the Internet. It contains the information that is created by on-line users. I don’t mean to overstate the power of the Internet, but it is source for much of what we do in our society. From it come all of the social media sites that we access. They are becoming the pillars for what we learn and what we share. That is the reason that I put them on the cables that hold up the bridge. The city in the background symbolizes the world that accesses the internet and its social media sites. You can vaguely see a person with a smart phone. That represents me. I really liked the picture. I actually discovered it when I was on a Twitter chat one evening. The picture really spoke to me and I knew that I wanted to use if for this project. The picture, to me, shows that social media is a very important aspect of the Internet. My professional learning environment is becoming increasingly dependent on social media.

Most of my peers included the same social media sites that I did. I should have included Blackboard and Moodle as I still use them through my job and school. There are others that I am not familiar with. I have not used Prezi, Scoopit, Adobe, and edweb.net to name a few.

I am not sure how one could access and use all of the social media websites that are available. I wish I could. I feel as if I am missing out by not accessing some of the other sites that people sited in their PLE diagrams. I think that a person needs to find that sites that will meet their needs and, if possible, explore other sites if possible. As I participate in this class, I often feel that I am far less competent as an educator than I thought I was. There is so much to learn and so many places to access it and so little time. I have been flipping back and forth from our Facebook page and I wonder what, am I missing on sites like Suncloud and engrade. I guess I should feel good about what I am doing because I am attempting to learn through the social media sites I use.

I really liked the connection some of my peers displayed between themselves and the social media sites they used. I saw words like connect, reflect, learn, share, and mash up. They caused me to think deeper about how most of these sites could represent anyone of those descriptions. Social media sites, used for professional development and learning, really encompass that metacognition piece of learning. They are such a wonderful way to collaborate with others who share common passions and areas of expertise.

Posted in EdTech 501 Learning Log
2 comments on “Chris Mason’s PLE of On-line Communities
  1. […] out using the blocks with the community logo on each block. Another image that caught my eye was Chris Mason’s PLE diagram. Chris’ image had a focal point as the bright burst of light which shot out […]

  2. […] The diagram represents the Internet and my social media connections. The light at the top of the picture is the Internet. It contains the information that is created by on-line users. I don’t mean to overstate the power of the Internet, but it is source for much of what we do in our society. From it come all of the social media sites that we access. They are becoming the pillars for what we learn and what we share. That is the reason that I put them on the cables that hold up the bridge. The city in the background symbolizes the world that accesses the internet and its social media sites. You can vaguely see a person with a smart phone. That represents me. I really liked the picture. I actually discovered it when I was on a Twitter chat one evening. The picture really spoke to me and I knew that I wanted to use if for this project. The picture, to me, shows that social media is a very important aspect of the Internet. My professional learning environment is becoming increasingly dependent on social media. https://chrismason1.wordpress.com/2013/10/27/chris-masons-ple-of-on-line-communities/ […]

Leave a Reply

